NASCLA Licensing

The National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies (NASCLA) developed and implemented a National Commercial Building Contractor Exam. This exam is currently acknowledged in fifteen states. However, the ultimate goal is nationwide acceptance and NASCLA is currently working on this process.

While almost every state requires an applicant to take their Business and Law Exam, a passing score on the NASCLA will eliminate the necessity to take another trade exam from any state agency accepting NASCLA.

This exam is currently accepted in the following states:

  • Alabama
  • Georgia
  • North Carolina
  • South Carolina
  • Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board
  • Louisiana
  • Mississippi
  • Tennessee
  • Virgin Islands
  • Nevada
  • Utah
  • West Virginia
  • Virginia
  • Virgin Islands
  • Oregon
  • Arizona

NASCLA Exam Facts:

• 115 Questions

• Requires 81% passing score

• 5 hours to complete

• Open Book

• Computer Based

• Results entered in the National Exam Database (NED) and do not expire